USCG Captain: Rules of the Road
264 questions on the International and Inland Navigation Rules for the Coast Guard captain's licence: steering rules, lights, shapes and sound signals, and where the two rule sets differ.
- Questions in this course
- 264
- The mock test
- 50 questions, 45 correct to pass.
- Written from
- USCG Navigation Rules and Regulations (International and Inland)
This course is for anyone who prepares for a U.S. Coast Guard captain's licence (OUPV / six-pack, or Master) and must pass the Rules of the Road module. It covers both the International Rules (COLREGS) and the U.S. Inland Rules, and it asks about the places where they differ.
The mock test is a PRACTICE format, not the official one: 50 questions, 45 to pass (90 percent). The regulation (46 CFR 11) does not state the question count or pass mark; the National Maritime Center sets them.
You take the real exam at a Coast Guard Regional Exam Center or through an approved course.
This course drills 264 questions. Every one is written from the Coast Guard's amalgamated Navigation Rules or 33 CFR Part 83, and names the source that proves its answer. In the rule text, words in single marks ‹ › are International only, and words in double marks ‹‹ ›› are Inland only.
Official links
- USCG Navigation Center — Navigation Rules — International and Inland Rules side by side; the source of this course
- 33 CFR Part 83 — Inland Navigation Rules — The Inland Rules as regulation text
- 46 CFR Part 11 — officer endorsements — Licence requirements and retest rules
Questions
Common questions
Is there an official test, and how is the mock test scored?
Practice format, not the official one: 50 questions, 45 to pass (90 percent). 46 CFR 11 does not state the count or the pass mark; the National Maritime Center sets them. 50 questions, 45 correct to pass.
Where do the questions in this course come from?
Every question is written from USCG Navigation Rules and Regulations (International and Inland), and names the passage or section that proves its answer.
Where do I take a boating, captain or rating exam?
You take the real exam at a Coast Guard Regional Exam Center or through an approved course.
Is this course free?
Part of every course is free: a slice of every topic and one short practice test a day. Full access is $5 a month for one course, or $20 a month for every course on the site.